Understanding the Statute of Limitations for Car Accident Injury Claims in Fort Lauderdale

July 28, 2023 – Adam Mann

If you are in a car accident and are seeking compensation, there are a few things to remember. For Florida accident victims, there is a limited time to file injury claims with insurance companies. There is also a limited time to file civil suits. In this article, we will explain what you need to do after an accident and how to make your claims.

What is a Statute of Limitations?

A statute of limitations specifies how much time is permitted between an accident and taking action for payment. Statutes of limitations prevent an individual from bringing old events to court with the wrong facts. Incorrect facts could lead the jury or a judge to an unfair decision. Statutes of limitations also stop an individual from making false claims against other individuals. Another purpose for a statute of limitations is to prevent evidence tampering or displacement over time.

Florida Statute of Limitations for Car Accident Injury Claims

In Florida, most personal injury lawsuits have a two-year statute of limitations. This includes car accidents. Florida law gives victims of accidents the ability to sue for any damages and for pain and suffering. The one condition is that you have to have proof that you suffered a serious injury. This could be anything from broken bones, to burns, or loss of limb function.

Seeking Medical Examination

  • If you are involved in an accident, it is important to seek medical attention as soon as possible. All claims and lawsuits will be dependent on proof that you actually suffered an injury. Proper documentation from a doctor is vital to a successful outcome. Make sure to collect as many medical documents as possible. The more documentation you have, the better your chances are of getting a fair settlement.

14-day Florida Personal Injury Protection Claim

Florida Personal Injury Protection is an insurance addition for Florida residents. It allows up to $10,000 in damage recovery without going to court. You have to go to the doctor for injuries suffered during an accident within 14 days of it happening. If you do not, they will not allow you to recover the money that you deserve. In addition to seeking medical treatment within 14 days you also have to have an emergency medical condition determination to be performed by a medical doctor or other qualified position under the Florida PIP Statutes. Please feel free to contact us to discuss further. The insurance company will help file a claim within 30 days of the accident. As a safeguard, they have 60 days to investigate fraudulent filings.

Following Up with an Attorney

Not all claim processes are easy. It is important to remember that insurance companies do not like to pay their customers exactly what they might deserve. It might be in your best interest to speak to a lawyer to make sure they do not take advantage. If you wish to file a claim or lawsuit as a result of your accident, it is recommended that you contact an attorney as soon as possible. Getting in contact with your lawyer and starting the claim process quickly increases your chances for PIP approval.

If you have been in an accident and would like to seek the help of a Personal Injury Lawyer Fort Lauderdale, contact our office, Cohen and Cohen Law, today.

For over 50 years, Cohen and Cohen Law has been helping accident victims get what they deserve. Call now to schedule your consultation.

Ask a Question, Describe Your Situation,
Request a Free Consultation

Contact Us Today For a Free Case Consultation

Contact Form - 2

Required Fields*

Your Information Is Safe With Us

Related Blog Posts